What’s Left in the Cupboard from the 2012 Harvest

Standard

308458_2333962481918_1187628955_nHarvest season brings a ridiculous bounty of fresh vegetables to my kitchen.  Piles of tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, peppers, eggplant and more populate my counters and refrigerator drawers.  Its impossible to eat it all or give it away.   Its a huge challenge to preserve it before I lose my momentum or it goes bad.   Each year, I get better at this daunting task.    And last autumn was a triumph of home preservation.     As the 2013 growing season commences, I need to take stock of what’s left from last summer.   Here’s what I found:

  • 6 cups of frozen concord grapes
  • 8 cups frozen heirloom tomatoes
  • 5 cups frozen cherry tomatoes
  • 8 jars of dries herbs:   parley, dill, tarragon, chives, dill, thyme, oregano, sage.   Ran out of basil in December.
  • 4 cups of frozen chopped sweet and hot peppers
  • 4 quarts red wine tomato sauce, 2011
  • 9 half quarts of red wine tomato sauce, 2012
  • 5 quarts canned peaches, 2012
  • 4 pounds blanched and frozen broccoli
  • 1 pound blanched and frozen cauliflower
  • 8 – 1/2 cup frozen batches of pesto

Its clear that I need to start cooking and serving up the listed items to make room for the bounty to come.    Tonight, I am happy with what I accomplished last year and satisfied to see such abundance still waiting to be enjoyed.   Yeah!!!

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

