Book Review: Jump Start to Skinny by Bob Harper

Standard
Nunn is an electrolyte drink replacement that has lots o delicious flavors.   Just so happened to have some around when I read Bob Harper's suggestion to drink some as part of his jumpstart to skinny diet.

Nunn is an electrolyte drink replacement that has lots o delicious flavors. Just so happened to have some around when I read Bob Harper’s suggestion to drink some as part of his jumpstart to skinny diet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The "healthy" lunch I ate after reading the book.   Couldn't manage without the cheese.

The “healthy” lunch I ate after reading the book. Couldn’t manage without the cheese.

Like most women, I want and need to lose a few pounds.   The promotion on this new book by Biggest Loser trainer, Bob Harper, was just too hard to resist.    I saw him talk about the book on the Today Show and his “SkinnyRules”  and it  all seemed to make sense.   There is not a chance I could go three weeks on 800 calories a day but I think I could manage a week and perhaps, learn a few things about quick weight loss.     This book was apparently inspired by one of his clients who had to drop  some pounds in a hurry to look great  for a big stage  performance.   I think we all have events like this — reunions, weddings, family portraits — where we need a quick fix and are willing to make the sacrifices to do it.   So, here goes — the 13 Skinny Rules of this three week diet blitz; guaranteed to help its followers look fabulous.

  • 40% carb/40% fruit/veg/20% proportions on plate
  • Cut back on calories and then cut back again.
  • Eat no complex carbs after breakfast.
  • Get rid of water weight by drinking more water.
  • Get your electrolytes.
  • Do 45 minutes a day of low-intensity cardio, preferably before breakfast.
  • Five times a week, at any time of day, do 15-20 minutes of my jumpstart moves.
  • Cut the salk.
  • Take advantage of the restorative power of daily fish oil.
  • Fall back on Veggies.
  • No fruit during week 3.
  • Lay off all booze.
  • An espresso a day … or Two or Three.
About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

One response »

  1. Thanks for the review, I just saw him on a talk show, and I think this is something I could handle for three weeks to get ready for bathing suit weather!

    Like

Leave a Reply

