Measuring and Mapping My Community Plot

Standard
Measurements for my Rosedale Garden plots.
Measurements for my Rosedale Garden plots.

Measurements for my Rosedale Garden plots.

After 15 years at Rosedale Community Garden, I decided it was time to stop approximating the size of my plot and take actual measurements.    One of the master gardeners in my class shared a computer program her partner had used to map out their garden plot/plants for the upcoming garden season.   I checked out the site:   http://www.gardenplanner.almanac.com.    It looked so awesome that I immediately wanted to input my dimensions and get to work.    The site allows you to use it free for 30 days and then asks for a $25 annual fee; $40 for two years.

So on this sunny spring  morning, I drove the 20 minutes up to Rosedale Garden armed with last year’s written map, a tape measure and a sharpie.
I was surprised to find that the actual measuring took longer than I had imagined.   At 16 feet, my tape measure wasn’t quite long enough to capture the entire length or wide of the plots so I measured smaller sections instead:   the compost trench, the fenced in area, the strawberry patch, the raised beds, the perennial beds, etc.

After an hour of measuring followed by a brief seed planting session,  I rushed home to log on to the garden planner site and  inputted my garden dimensions.   After a concentrated hour of working with the mapping tools,  I can see that this project is going to take a little longer than the usual gridded paper and color pencils method.   In the long run, I think its going to be awesome!!!

 

 

 

First draft of my garden using new computer program.

First draft of my garden using new computer program.

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

