Need An Alternative to Rototilling? Try A Broadfork

Standard
Need An Alternative to Rototilling?    Try A Broadfork

I was woIMG_8257rking in my community garden plot this afternoon when an experienced  gardener walked by carrying  an unfamiliar tool.   It looked like a two handled rake with  long straight prongs attached to a flat metal platform.    Syd called it a broadfork and related that he had purchased it from a craftsman in Santa Fe for $100 plus shipping.   He was bringing one down to the garden to store in the shed with plansto order another one for our community garden.    He took a few minutes to demonstrate how to use the broadfork by stepping on the metal platform to push the prongs 6-8 inches into the soil and pulled back on the handles to gently turn the soil.      Syd used this method of tilling his soil instead of the rototilling because it doesn’t disrupt the soil and the organisms living it as much.     He is planning to demonstrate how to use the broad fork to Rosedale Gardeners at 9 am next Saturday, May 5.

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

