Coffee, Homemade Jam and Water Conservation

Standard
Coffee, Homemade Jam and Water Conservation

One my favorite aspects of gardening are the conversations I have with my gardening friends.   Today, I made plans to meet master classmate, Teri, for coffee at Stella’s, a favorite hang out spot on Pearl Street.    We met at 9 am, sandwiched between my Red Rocks boot camp and her client meeting in Cherry Creek.    I was interested to hear how she’s parlayed her love of gardening and organizing into a thriving business helping clients organize, pack and move valuables, design, plant and maintain home gardens and design decorate pots.     Teri’s passion for  her work really shines and I can see why she is so successful.      This is her busy time of year so I felt honored to have an hour of her attention to talk about her work and discuss our master gardening “give-back” classes.     She asked me for some tips on her upcoming water conversation class; a subject I know intimately from my work at Rosedale and in my own garden.   Beyond talking about the irrigation options (overhead watering, dip, soaker hoses, clay pot irrigation and hand watering), I thought a discussion of mulching, using water wise plants, moisture retention and timing of watering would be relevant.    She invited me to join her at tomorrow’s workshop — which I hope to do it I can arrange my family obligations.    Aside from our delightful gardening discussion, the highlights of our coffee hour was a beautiful quilt hanging on the wall near our table and most definitely, the two homemade jams she brought me from her pantry.   Thank you Teri!!!
get-attachment (2)

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

