Boot Camp with A View: Red Rocks Fitness Challenge

Standard
Red Rocks Amphitheather in Morrison is not only a fabulous concert venue but also a beautiful place to get a great workout.

Red Rocks Amphitheather in Morrison is not only a fabulous concert venue but also a beautiful place to get a great workout.

When my friend Cindy invited me to join the Red Rocks Fitness Challenge, I was immediately interested in participating.   Of course, the challenge of working out on the steps and benches was a bit daunting, not to mention the steep climb up from the parking lot.    But the opportunity to spend time working out in this beautiful natural amphitheater was undeniably compelling.    The series is sponsored by Health One and taught by trainers from Denver Park and Recreation.  One of the unique aspects of the challenge is that your fitness level, measurements and weight are measured at the beginning and end of the series.   Prizes are given for the most progress in several categories.   The other aspect that attracted me was the availability of weekday and Saturday workouts.    I am now signed up, measured and ready to start.    Tuesday and Thursday mornings will be my days with Saturday mornings if I can make it.   Yesterday morning, I met up with Cindy to attend my first 7 am  workout.   And, I was quite surprised to find that the 50 minute session very doable.    Not easy but not a killer either.   I credit my weekly attendance at Janet’s Ken Caryl boot camps and the recent running and swimming clinics I’ve attended for preparing me for this new challenge.     I am hoping to see some results and will enjoy the view along the way.

4924_1121931141892_1592535_n 4924_1121931101891_5459696_n 4924_1121927501801_5713382_n 4924_1121931181893_4269398_n

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

