My Son’s Garden Plan

Standard

IMG_8381Now that my garden is mostly planted, it was time to invite my son Dylan to plant his.     Since he was very young,  this precocious child has shown a great interest in the garden and has always been excited to manage his own section of the plot.    Due to our decision to eliminate two fairly large crops this year (beans and corn), we have a lot of extra space in the community plot; a row measuring 4 by 15 feet.   And Dylan is psyched to claim it.

Before heading out to buy seedlings, Dylan sat down and wrote his wish list.   From the seeds in our collection, he will plant corn, carrots, beans, beets, and pumpkins.    From the seedlings I grew, he will plant some big max pumpkins and zinnias.    At Home Depot, we bought hot peppers, mint (for tea), a raspberry bush, onion starts and seeds for Mammoth sunflowers, birdhouse gourds, and Japanese lanterns.    His other requests, peanuts and potatoes, are hard to find locally so I will to mail order them.     I think its amazing how quickly he came up with his wish list.   And even more amazing that I did push him to plant other things like tomatoes, basil or salad greens.

So, today, after his baseball practice, we will head down to Rosedale garden and start to plant.   He is particularly excited to employ the Three Sisters Method for his corn, beans and pumpkins.   I am excited to see how his garden grows.

Shopping for plants for Dylan's 2013 garden.

Shopping for plants for Dylan’s 2013 garden.

Dylan's 2009 plot

Dylan’s 2009 plot

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 21 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a comment