Flowers for Mitchell

Standard
I brought flowers from my garden to decorate Mitchell's grave.

I brought flowers from my garden to decorate Mitchell’s grave.

With an appointment up in Conifer, I decided to take the usual detour to visit my son Mitchell’s grave at Evergreen Memorial Park.   I picked a fresh bouquet of flowers from my blooming garden and brought it with me.   Fourteen years after Mitchell’s unexpected death of pneumonia at the tender age of 16 months, visiting his grave has become a familiar family tradition.   We almost always go up on Christmas to sing a few songs or recite a poem.    Often, we bring friends and members of our extended family to visit as well.    Mitchell’s birthday on August 11 is also a time that we go up for a picnic and to enjoy the beautiful mountain vistas, the herds of buffalo and the blooming wildflowers.    Over the years, the structures have changed; most notably the construction of a historic barn and event facility nearby; ponds have been added and the trees have grown taller.    The tree we planted in his memory has transformed from a scrawny, scrubby Colorado pine to a towering tree much as I imagine his might be if he’d lived to be a teenager today.   His cousin, Jack, who was born 11 days after Mitchell, now towers above me at age 14 ;  a reminder of how tall my lost toddler might be right now.

So on this bright sunny June day, I brought my beautiful flowers and enjoyed the life abounding in the memorial park — the buffalo bathing in the pond, the singing birds, the fluttering butterflies and the colorful flowers — and considered who my bright, energetic, ball loving little boy might have been if he were alive today.    Still missing my little Mitchell!

Mitchell's tree is so tall.

Mitchell’s tree is so tall.

IMG_0735 IMG_0733 IMG_0731
IMG_0737

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

