Zoe’s French Tomato Tart

Standard
Zoe’s French Tomato Tart


IMG_1167This summer we hosted Zoe, a student from Provence, France.  During her 3 week visit, she shared some of her culinary favorites with us.   One of the highlights was her tomato tart.   This is a perfect way to use some of those delicious  heirloom tomatoes from your garden.

Ingredients:

Pepperidge Farm puff pastry

3-4 Tbsp Dijon Mustard

Gruyere Cheese, grated

3 large heirloom tomatoes, sliced thin

Fresh basil leaves

Defrost and roll one package of puff pastry.   Grease cookie sheet.   Spread dijon mustard on the surface of the pastry, then grate gruyere cheese on top.   Place tomato slices in single rows next and garnish with basil leaves.

Bake for about 20 minutes at 350 F.

946352_10201221839301461_1022980127_n

 

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

