Seed Bombs in a Goody Bag — Sweet!!!

Standard

IMG_4461[1]I was introduced to the concept of seed bombs in my master gardener class last year.   As part of my give back hours, I was often asked to demonstrate this project as a fun (and messy) kid’s activity.

A seed bomb is made up of clay, soil, water and a sprinkling of seeds — often very tiny ones which are hard to handle.    To make one, you take a bit of moistened clay, soil, add some seeds, roll a ball and let it dry.   The dried balls can be stored in paper bags and later, easily thrown in the garden to plant,   I threw my collection of balls into my plot late last fall and was greeted by a nice variety of spinach and lettuce early this Spring.

On Saturday afternoon when I received a pretty package of special seed balls, I was thrilled and impressed with the giver’s creativity.   Sarah Spearman, a new gardener at Rosedale Community Garden, had created this package for the students in her healing herbs class at the Denver Botanic Gardens.   And she had saved one for me!!!   I can’t wait to plant them and create my own “Garden of Youth.”

 

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

