Fresh Salad Vinaigrette Made with Homegrown French Shallots

Standard
Fresh Salad Vinaigrette Made with Homegrown French Shallots

10984497_10206154600377405_5606755223133504857_nWhen I have fresh greens out of the garden, I like to make my own salad dressing.   And recently, I had the opportunity to make a salad with the help of two sisters, Ana and Eden, who were visiting Colorado from Maryland.   The youngest, Eden, was especially eager to help harvest the lettuce and prepare the salad.   With the help of both Ana and Eden, we created a lovely salad for our lunch.    The dressing is especially delicious and made with fresh French shallots I grew in my garden.  The recipe was first prepared for me by our French exchange student, Zoe, who made it during her visit in July 2013.   Here it is:

2 tbsps minced shallot

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup balsalmic vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together in a jar, put the lid on and shake.   Store in refrigerator of a week.

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

