The Dog Days of Summer in the Garden

Standard
The Dog Days of Summer in the Garden
Ripening blackberries

Ripening blackberries

Its late August and my garden is  bursting with vegetables and berries.   Although some of it is starting to look a little ragged, most is growing like gangbusters.   One notable exception is my tomato crop which was delayed due to an unusually cold and rainy Colorado May.  I am hoping that Mother Nature will delay autumn’s first frost and give my tomatoes a few more weeks to ripen.

Typically, this time of year tomatoes are my biggest haul with 20-40 pounds a week but alas, an abundance of other crops are filling the void.   Kale, cucumbers, chard, lettuce, scallions, peppers, onions, herbs, beans, squashes, greens, beets, broccoli, cherry tomatoes are filling my counters and refrigerator.   With so much to process in August,  I am always torn between staying home to cook the bounty or going out to enjoy the last beautiful sunny hot days of summer.   Trying to do it all presents its challenges!!!   Here are some photos from my last summer garden.

Black-eyed Susans are blooming for weeks!

Black-eyed Susans are blooming for weeks!

Wine barrel tomatoes and basil are slow but steady.

Wine barrel tomatoes and basil are slow but steady.

The only flowers in the window boxes to survive the southwest sun -- still gorgeous.

The only flowers in the window boxes to survive the southwest sun — still gorgeous.

 

 

 

When are my grapevines going to grow grapes?

When are my grapevines going to grow grapes?

Beets are ready!

Beets are ready!

Picking raspberries for my snack is the best!

Picking raspberries for my snack is the best!

The apple tree I nurtured for 6 years is not well.

The apple tree I nurtured for 6 years is not well.

Jack be littles are climbing over the green striped Romas.

Jack be littles are climbing over the green striped Romas.

Can never have enough basil.

Can never have enough basil.

Shallots are ready for the best vinaigrette in the world -- thanks Zoe!

Shallots are ready for the best vinaigrette in the world — thanks Zoe!

Front porch blooms were a door prize at the Littleton City Dinner. Looking good.

Front porch blooms were a door prize at the Littleton City Dinner. Looking good.

Rainbow chard and spinach ready to harvest!

Beers ready to harvest!

Just planted new onions last week and they are growing!!!

Just planted new onions last week and they are growing!!!

Basil and parsley on the patio.

Basil and parsley on the patio.

Jack be littles, cone flowers and tomatoes on the trellis.

Jack be littles, cone flowers and tomatoes on the trellis.

The "Ketchup and Fries" plant is producing tomatoes. Wonder about potatoes beneath the surface!!!

The “Ketchup and Fries” plant is producing tomatoes. Wonder about potatoes beneath the surface!!!

Broccoli is shading the newly planted greens.

Broccoli is shading the newly planted greens.

A mouse is nibbling on the strawberries. Hope the mole cage will protect the other ones.

A mouse is nibbling on the strawberries. Hope the mole cage will protect the other ones.

Leeks are growing tall. Anticipating potato leek soup very soon.

Leeks are growing tall. Anticipating potato leek soup very soon.

Zinnias are my favorite!!

Zinnias are my favorite!!

Posing next to my flower bed.

Posing next to my flower bed.

Selecting some herbs to harvest.

Selecting some herbs to harvest.

About anaincolorado

Hi, I am an avid gardener both at home and at Rosedale Community Garden where I've had a plot for 19 years. I am very interested in learning more about gardening, how to preserve it, incorporating farm fresh produce into my cooking and living a healthy lifestyle. In addition, I am a Master Community Gardener through Denver Urban Gardens and am a shareholder at the Chatfield CSA. In 2015, I spearheaded an effort to start a community donation garden at St. Philip's Lutheran Church -- a project I will share on my blog. I am eager to share what I've learned and the adventures I had learning new things and interacting with the garden community.

Leave a Reply

